Things to do after Ubuntu installation

I noticed that there are already so many posts on this topic on the Internet, and I found why that is so and why I still want to write on this topic again.

I am kind of new on this Linux world. I had to install this system on my Windows laptop, simply because I had to use Linux in my current project. So it was about three months ago that I first met Ubuntu.

Recently there was a big upgrade of Ubuntu, 11.10. I am the one who just click the upgrade button when I see it. Problems get complicated after the upgrade. The upgrade on the previous version of Ubuntu was not that graceful. After installation, I noticed that the system has too many problems. Touch-pad indicator was not working after login, X window crashes too often, laptop itself get heated too much, and so on. There were more than many people who don’t recommend this kind of upgrades. They suggest to delete everything and install the new version on empty disk. It seems like I can learn something new only when I have a problem.

So I installed a new version of Ubuntu on a clean disk, and I think I will do this again and again whenever there is an upgrade. That means I have to write down what to do after each installation. I think that is one reason why there are so many posts on this topic. Even though there are many, each of them are so different. Some of them focus on themes and styles, and some may focus on multimedia tasks. Well, I think I should have my own guides, and here it is. In fact. I am still trying to find what I need to have on this machine, so I think I should update this post frequently from now.

1. Google Chrome

I was a Firefox mania for many years. You can’t get away from Firefox especially when you need to work on web development tasks. However, I don’t work as a web developer now, and I kind of like Chrome more than any other browsers, simply because it is faster than any others. If you are with me, you may need to install Chrome first of all. When you search Chrome in Ubuntu Software Center, you will see Chromium instead of Chrome. You may want to know the difference. Basically Chromium is the open source project of Chrome. You can access to Google Chrome download page and install directly.

1.5 Backup Bookmarks

In my case, I just forgot to backup my bookmarks. It can be a personal thing, but I had about 1-200 bookmarks on my previous system. So now I have to gather all the links again. Another lesson, it is good to have a bookmark synch software, and here is one I am trying to use, Xmarks.

2. Last Minute Update

During your installation process, you may or may not selected ‘Download update while installing’ and ‘Install the third-party software’. If not, you may need to update your repositories and get the latest versions of softwares. Following command line will check all the possible updates.

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade

3. SCIM

This may be a special case or may not. I think there must be many who use more than two languages. My case, I use Korean and installing an input method for Korean is the first priority. I know there are many ways to install an appropriate input method system such as nabi or scim. I used to have nabi in my system before. It was just fine except one thing that you have to hide the panel every time you login. This time I installed scim, and so far it is good. The following is what I did.

  1. Install “scim-hangul” package for Korean.  You can search this package in Ubuntu Software Center or (sudo apt-get install scim-hangul)
  2. System Settings > Language Support : If it is the first time you open the language support window, you will need to install the required packages.
  3. click “install / remove languages” and make sure that your language is installed.
  4. select scim for the keyboard input method system.
  5. reboot

That’s everything I did for Korean input and it works fine.

4. Ubuntu Restricted Extras

You have a beautiful Linux system in front of you, and now you need to play some music. ^^ Shoot, but you can’t play mp3 songs without this “extras” installed. More explanation is meaningless. Let’s go.

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

5. Software Installations for your needs

  • Emacs: I don’t think this is pre-installed in Oneiric version.
  • TeX: TeX Live is a comprehensive TeX document production system. You can get almost everything for tex documentation.
  • Guake: This is one of my favorite. You can set this terminal transparent, and copy things beneath the window.
  • Dropbox: If you think this is better than Ubuntu One, like I do, Dropbox will be your the best jumpdrive.
  • CompizConfig Settings Manager (ccsm): I personally don’t touch gnome things, because I get headaches more often than screaming ‘YES’. If you are the one who likes to show off your slicky Linux themes, you will need this.
  • Exaile: My fav mp3 player. You can choose one of these mp3 players: amarok (great features), XMMS (less resources), Rhythmbox (Gnome’s default music player)
  • Pidgin: Many say that this IM is better than default program empathy, and I pretty much agree.

Leave a Reply

